Select Page

Here at New Music Strategies, we’re bored with the same old conversations about whether or not the internet is a good thing for musicians and for music. It’s a brilliant thing for music. Best thing that’s happened to music since microphones. So now what?

Well, for the next two days here at New Music Strategies we’re teaming up with the Amplified crew to bring you an online music industry knowledge event unlike any you’ve experienced before. We call it AmpNMS.

It’s about music entrepreneurship. It’s about your relationship with fans. It’s about underground music scenes. It’s about technology.

It’s live, it’s online, it’s totally free, and it’s completely interactive.

We’re not going to talk at you and expect you to sit there and just listen. We want to talk with you. We want to hear your ideas. And we’re not just going to retread the same old territory. It’ll be fresh, intelligent, interesting and challenging.

It’s New Music Strategies, Amplified.

The way it works
There’ll be four sessions over two days – one at 4pm UK time, the other at 8pm. Each starts with a short recorded video provocation (about 10 minutes – sometimes more, sometimes less), followed by a live online discussion with the AmpNMS team – and you. Each session will take about an hour in total, give or take. And at the end of each session, we’ll archive everything everyone said so it can be found later.

It’s happening on Tuesday and Wednesday this week. Or, depending on your timezone, today and tomorrow.

The hashtag for the event is #ampnms. Keep an eye out for it – and we’ll see you here.

Here’s the schedule:


Tuesday 21st June
UK 4pm (Pacific 8am | Mountain 9am | Central 10am | Eastern 11am)

Session 1: Music Enterprise
Nick Moreton from UK independent label Brave or Invincible Records talks about music entrepreneurship and sustainability.


Tuesday 21st June
UK 8pm (Pacific 12pm | Mountain 1pm | Central 2pm | Eastern 3pm)

Session 2: Making Friends With Fans
Academic and author Nancy Baym explains friendship, social media and the ways in which artists and fans build relationships online and off.


Wednesday 22nd June
UK 4pm (Pacific 8am | Mountain 9am | Central 10am | Eastern 11am)

Session 3: Underground Music Scenes
Music journalist Joe Muggs draws lessons for all makers of independent music from the underground dance and electronic music scenes.


Wednesday 22nd June
UK 8pm (Pacific 12pm | Mountain 1pm | Central 2pm | Eastern 3pm)

Session 4: Music and technology
Jesse von Doom from Cash Music talks open source technology and how code can help musicians.